Seoul Writers Workshop

Resources, tips, and inspiration for the Seoul writers’ community.

Throw Away the Prologue

with 2 comments

From the Writers Digest blog:

“Here’s what happened recently: While reading the umpteenth slow-starting novel manuscript that crossed my desk one afternoon, I found myself practically screaming, ‘Throw away the prologue! Just throw it away! I never want to see another prologue in this lifetime!’ In fact, in all the submissions I’ve looked at, I have yet to read a prologue that has improved a manuscript. Good stories should start where they start, and not before or after. You need to work the backstory into the story, and not just shove it into a prologue

Written by crfsanders

December 15, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yup, but some prologues do work. Generally anecdotes with a tiny connection with the story. Not necessary to understand the plot, but adding some spice to the narrative, often with a different voice (on the other hand, we’ve seen too many paper-clip prologues)

    Stephane MOT

    December 16, 2010 at 12:32 am

  2. Prologue: I enjoy the art of story telling. I wrote something to share with others.

    Story: It was published. I was sick and could not attend the reading to get my copies. I was sad.

    Question: Anyway I can get those?

    Thanks:-)

    Achilles

    achillesthree@hotmail.com

    achilles

    December 16, 2010 at 6:46 am


Leave a Reply

